IBD with Gelish base/top, or using IBD system only?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

acsmith

Reaction score
Hello all! I'm just getting started with SOG at home for myself and possibly my best friend. I will have a UV lamp, Gelish Base and TIO, and iBd polishes. I've never been able to keep polish on my nails until last year when I got a chance to try SOG. Loved it, been waiting to start ever since.

My questions: if I want to do a "water" effect, dropping clear gel into the second coat of color before it's cured, would you suggest I use iBd top coat or Gelish? If I were to use the iBd, I'm assuming i should cure it for the longer time? (depending on how much I use?) Also, which to use for attaching gems.
I ask, because blending wet with wet, it seems like I should stick with the same product line. I only ordered the Gelish, because of some poor reviews of the iBd base and top. But now, I'm wondering if I shouldn't have ordered the iBd instead. Compare, and see which works best on my nails. Since my nails don't hold on to regular polish, I might also order some of the iBd power bond, but I will try without, first.

Thanks in advance for any help, suggestions. I'm somewhat housebound with limited income, and this has been something I've wanted to do for a while. I've spent the last several months (off and on) researching and watching training videos, which kept me motivated. I was able to put a little $ aside, but I need to keep my costs down. (Yet another reason for using the iBd for additional nail artwork instead of Gelish)
Please let me know your opinions. I understand your first response would be that I should seek a local professional to do my nails, but I want to create art myself on my own nails that lasts more than a day. Plus, hopefully, my health will improve, and I can seek training. In the meantime, I will practice and learn.
Thank you!!!