Is he dodgy???

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hayleylmh1987

Reaction score
Hi does a barber need to be qualified or can he be self taught?

Reason I'm asking is my cousins bf is dodgy!!! Were trying to protect her that's all!

He is a barber in a shop but we are wondering if he will be insured and things! He refuses to do anybody's hair that he knows!

My uncle is pretty well off so he has asked him for £15,000 to set up his own business so my uncle wants to do a little research first!!!

Any advice would be appreciated

Spreading the nail love

A barber does need to be qualified and insured.

He could be shy and just not confident which is why he doesn't want to cut someone's hair who he knows, but it is a bit odd.

Why doesn't your uncle ask him outright? After all, he asked you uncle for the money.

Oh sorry should of made that a little clearer! Lol silly me! He has said he is self taught hence the reason were asking.

We don't know nothing about the hair industry so that's why my uncle is a little dubious about this new business adventure!

We need all the advice we can get! If he isn't qualified and he is working in a shop should something be said to someone! It's mens hair he is messing with.

Spreading the nail love

If he isn't qualified then he isn't going to have insurance - that's a problem.

It doesn't make any difference that he's just cutting mens hair. You have to do the training and provide your certificate for insurance. He's lucky he is just doing mens hair because they probably complain a lot less.

There's no difference between what he's doing and him going to Sally's, buying a wax kit and setting up a wax business. Would you want him waxing your underarms when he hasn't been trained?

Tell your uncle to stay well clear.