Is there always room for improvement

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrstruman

Reaction score
Hi geeks
just wondering how long it took you to reach your full potential at doing nails, get them looking their best. I have been doing nails now for just under 2 years and occasionally i will not be happy with a set i have done and think i could of done those better, is there always room for improvement or do we all just reach a certain level and then thats it i sometimes get disheartened and think im not actually that good, although i do have a good regular clientelle so i know im doing something right. I really do love doing nails but then look at some of the nails that some of you guys have done and think i could never do them that good. Anyone else ever feel like this lol

Last edited:
Hi there

In at about the same time as you in the nail business, not a long time but I'm sure as me compared to the first set there is huge improvement :)
However there are days when it all falls together beautifully others are just not.
I do feel though that you never stop learning, there are always new products as well as new formulation on existing ones to keep us on our toes. I love it. Keeps the grey matter working and everything stays fresh and exciting.
It will be interesting to see the more experienced geeks say.

I vicki xx

My nails have absolutly improved since i first started, my god they were awful, i think im just having a bad week this week, ive decided im definatly going to do a cnd conversion course, they seem to be the best for education so maybe they will give me some new tips and advice.

IME the longer you've been doing nails the higher your expectations are and the pickier you get!! I've been doing this 7 years and I still do sets or rebalances that I look at and think 'blah'...... My clients are happy though which I guess is what matters.....