Lifting causing pseudo leukonychia???

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bud

Reaction score
When i rebalance one of my long-term client's nails, she often has white marks appear on her nail bed if there has been lifting in that area.

Sometimes these disappear if I gently buff with a very fine abrasive over the area, or when i wipe over with scrubfresh (in this case they only disappear temporarily, until the nail dehydrates.. which is partly what leads me to think it's pseudo leukonychia??)

I have been doing this client's nails for a couple of years, and had always noticed her nails were prone to doing this, sometimes more often than others... but always seemed to be caused by the lifting.

This client goes 4wks between appts, so I've suggested we try 3wks next time, as she says the lifting often occurs in the last week.

I have other clients with lifting who do not suffer from these white patches, so I had assumed that this was a problem unique to her nails, but she has recently returned to have her nails done with me after I've come back to work from maternity leave - and she has not suffered with the problem with tech doing her nails while I was away ... so clearly I am doing something wrong ... :(

I'm really confident I'm doing all the right things with prep - I really spend a lot of time on it. But am happy to go thru what i do step-by-step if anyone thinks this may be a prob?

My thought process is this.. that the lifting is caused in the final days of the 4wks she goes between treatments, and as my prep is ok, it is probably caused by trauma to the nails, especially as the nails are really getting quite long by the 4wk mark. So as the lifting is caused by trauma rather than bad prep, the gel is forced away from the nail, causing some damage to the nail bed?