Majicontrast/Magirouge/Magirel/Majirel Mix? Clarification please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PhoenixRising

Reaction score
Hi everyone
I’m new and still learning (please be kind 😽) I’m almost complete my qualifications but covid is slowing it down a bit. I wondered if someone with more experience than me could explain the difference in the majirel range please? There’s majirel, majirouge, majicontrast, majirel mix, etc. It’s quite daunting there is a lot of conflicting information out there around mixing so I want to ensure I have the correct info, it’s hard not being at college or id clarify it with a tutor. I’m still learning but thought the more experienced people could maybe shed some light on the situation for me.
thanks everyone, Phoenix

Hi, I will try and give you the basics.

Majirel is a permanent colour, mixed 1:1.5 ratio so 1 tube (50ml) + 75ml 12.5 vol (3.75%), 20vol (6%) or 30vol (9%).
12.5 Volume lifts up to 1 level lighter.
20 Volume lifts up to 2 levels lighter, and is for white hair coverage.
30 Volume lifts up to 3 levels lighter.

On natural levels 1-3 you lose one level of lift (so 20 vol only lifts one level)

When working on 50% or more white hair you use 1/2 target shade + 1/2 natural basic or golden basic.
(use natural basic for cool target shades, and golden basics .03 / .3 for warm target shades)

E.g. Target shade 8.1 (cool shade) - use 1/2 8.1 + 1/2 8 + 20vol
Target shade 7.4 (warm shade) - use 1/2 7.4 + 1/2 7.3 + 20vol

Development time is 35 minutes.

Majirouge is a sub division of majirel, and is longer lasting & brighter reds. All the same rules apply as above, although some of the shades cover 100% white hair without adding any basic.