Mixing light with dark colours

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lilly

Reaction score
Hi all.
Can someone answer a question about colours ???
I have been hairdressing for many years, done advanced recently BUT cant get my head round this.
I know allot of hairdressers mix, lets say for instance, half 6 with half 7, now surly the end colour would be a 6 because its a darker shade ? or would it be in between ???
I am taking over a friends client base and have noticed she does this allot, one client is half 3 half 4, I don't get it !
Am i right or wrong in thinking this is just mixing for the sake of it ???

Hi all.
Can someone answer a question about colours ???
I have been hairdressing for many years, done advanced recently BUT cant get my head round this.
I know allot of hairdressers mix, lets say for instance, half 6 with half 7, now surly the end colour would be a 6 because its a darker shade ? or would it be in between ???
I am taking over a friends client base and have noticed she does this allot, one client is half 3 half 4, I don't get it !
Am i right or wrong in thinking this is just mixing for the sake of it ???

Hi lilly;865181,

on the darker depths with no tones I cant see it making much difference
either especially with using half the darker base 3

I can understand if she perhaps put just a touch of 3 in the 4 to take it darker a teeny bit
but i would have thought half the 3 base would over take the 4 entirely

with very dark base colours I usually go for one base or the other
unless i was altering tones,

must admit though on lighter bases ect
i do sometimes add a touch of 5 to a level 6 base

but this is as you say to darken it a little ,

but it would be good to see what others think too x :)