Mobile whilst pregnant?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcintyre85

Reaction score
Hi, I’ve been hairdressing for a total of 16 years, the last 8 I’ve been running a successful mobile business, travelling fairly far and wide from my home town (all within 35 min drive). I’m now 34 and thinking about starting a family, it’s got me thinking about how I would manage whilst pregnant. I carry a LOT of heavy equipment, am not always able to park right up close to client’s houses and sometimes carrying it up two flights of stairs in blocks of flats, making two or three trips back and forth from the car. I really can’t reduce my load as I market myself as a ‘high end’ mobile hairdresser, bringing absolutely everything with me that’s possible to make the experience as close to a salon one for my clients. I also do colouring so heavy bottles of liquid are in there too. I bring my own chair, mirror, floor mat, towels, shampoos, everything, so the client has to provide nothing. I usually keep fit so i can carry all this stuff fairly easily, but it’s already sometimes a struggle and very tiring. I charge what London salons charge, so I’m not prepared to sacrifice any of my supplies as I think it could be damaging for my business, I have high expectations from my clients who have plenty of money to go elsewhere if they felt like it.
But how will I do all this whilst pregnant? I also can’t afford to take a lot of time off, so I would be working absolutely til the full term.
Anyone else have experience in this?
Sorry for the long post

Hi there, I'm not a hairdresser but I do work mobile and have been pregnant.
You need to be realistic about this situation.