Nails - new start up - advice really appreciated!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

larenka

Reaction score
Hey, firstly thanks for your time reading this. I have read a lot of posts over last few months but still have a few queries and would like your expert opinion ! :confused:

I'm just starting out and am looking into all avenues - I am seriously considering doing a natural course with CND initially as have no Nail experience & this also includes Shellac. I know there are a lot of threads about shellac etc but i have also read reviews that say Gelleration & Gelicure are better than Shellac? (A lot of people around me are offering gelish so wouldn't consider that.) What are your experiences/differences?

I wanted to add a gel polish that was strong, long lasting & good range of cols/nail art options as I have now decided for the time being not to offer enhancements. Do you think that natural only is a good option?

I have a number of reasons why I am holding off learning enhancements.. 1.Initial outlay - I wanted to ensure there was a market for my business. I also believe there may be a diminishing enhancement market? Quite a few posts on here mention only now doing a small no of new full sets, maybe due to people moving to gel polish & unhealthy competition from lower end salons? I don't want to try to compete with the Thai salons so am aiming for the mid-high end of mkt but also don't want to lose masses of clients cause i don't offer extensions. If I was going to do anything it would be L&P as there are a lot of people doing normal gel locally and I believe its easier for other people to start up doing this, so that why i would try to learn L&P.