New Shellac'er disasterous application today

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blinkingorgeous

Reaction score
Urgh, Im new to Shallac, love it but Iv had a disaster:eek: second time with same client.

Client has flaky nail tips which I was aware of and wasnt too much of a problem. the problem was I spent about 30 mins on prep, removing old shellac, file, cuticle away, scrubfresh. Really worked hard at the pep but when I started the base coat I could see there were lumps and bumps on the nail plate (this happened before) it obviously just got worse as layer upon layer went on!!!

My theory is that the nail plate was also flakey and although I cuticle awayed all over the nail plate I was obviously making the flakeyness worse therefore not leaving a smooth nail plate.

For you Shellac Geeks, do you think I have come to the correct conclustion??? This happened the first time I did shellac on this client, the second time I only did a dry cuticle work and it was fine, this time I did cuticles away and it was awful, felt like crying and couldnt charge the client for an awful job :grr:

So is this theory correct, if so do I just do dry cuticle work or is there a solution. Thank you xx Blinks xx

Are you sure you're not getting lint from your wipes in the base?
If its across the nail plate and not just the end then it sounds unlikely to be the nail itself flaking away in those patches, that sounds unusual to me (though i could be wrong) could you be being to rough with your tools?
How are you getting on with other clients?
Dont worry, its not a disaster, just a learning curve! :hug:

Are you sure you're not getting lint from your wipes in the base?
If its across the nail plate and not just the end then it sounds unlikely to be the nail itself flaking away in those patches, that sounds unusual to me (though i could be wrong) could you be being to rough with your tools?