(old NVQ) A1 Assessor Award

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angel17

Reaction score
I am a qualified beauty therapist for many years and am looking to train as an assessor. Can I ask has anyone done this course? Thank you

I'm also intrigued to hear answers too:)

I'm a qualified FE teacher and completed this course at the college. Perhaps contact your local college and ask if they run this course as an evening course?

The A1 assessor course? (sorry I don't understand what you mean by old NVQ) Yes I have done it, however they have recently changed the course into 3 units instead of the whole assessor award. What would you like to know?

Hi
My husband - who does this for a living - advises contacting your local FE college and private training providers. HTH

I have recently completed PTTLS and wanted to do an assessor course.
I contacted my local College to enquire about the assessors award and the person I spoke to was quite vague, he said it wasn't straight forward as I had to be working in FE to be able to take the course and then with the help of a mentor it would take about 18 months to complete.

I don't feel any clearer on the details of the course so if anyone does have any more information it would be really helpful.

Husband now gone to bed, but I'll try to get back to you tomorrow.
Maybe try the private companies?

I have found a good company but I was just wondering if people were getting any work as the course is expensive

We provide and teach this course to new assessors so I am very familiar with it.

It is called the "level 3 certificate in assessing vocational achievement".

There are 3 units that need to be completed. One is the theory of understanding the roles and rules of assessment (you also do this in the Pttls course, so if you already have Pttls you do not need to repeat this unit).