Pink and purple hair help please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clairebh1604

Reaction score
Hi guys,
Just wondering if I could ask for some advise please. For over 10 years that I have been in the hairdressing industry I have never had to use wacky colours like the crazy colours so I am not very experienced with them, for vibrant purples and reds etc I've used L'Oreal which I am trained in as you can make some awesome colours up. I have a client and her 16 year old has asked for this.... and she has approval from her mum, her mum actually loves it as well. I have advised all the normal bits, it will be harder to maintain as it will fade and we will need to pre lighten her colour as she is about a base 6ish home dyed atm which I have said to was with head and shoulders to help lighten and do conditioning treatments so we can keep her hair in nice condition. She likes the crazy colours but I have read on here that the purples tend to fade green so I'm a bit hesitant to use them, I have also looked at directions which seems the better alternative but have read it does not last long so have looked into the affinage and fudge paintbox which seems the best ones, I like the look at the affinage...if I can get hold of them as they seem to last well and have conditioning agents in them which I feel will be great on her hair :) I also need to dye hair extensions (micro loop) the same so will lighten her hair and get the extensions to as closer colour to that so the colour will be as even as posts. I would like to know how much I need to lighten in order to achieve these kind of colours so would I be ok to an orange/yellow blonde or lighter. I managed to get it to a 9 on a strand test with 10vol and bleach. Also any ideas of how to achieve this kind of look would be fab as she wants both the purple and pink from root to tip, so random block pieces or thick slices in foils