Pregnant Mobile Tech - wow! and uh-oh!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seraphine

Reaction score
I've been working as a mobile tech for about 18 months. I have a really good clientele, and my name has been getting out there a lot lately as I've had tons of recommendations. I'm working part-time, as I have a 3 year old who just started nursery, so it's a lot of afternoon and evening work, but I have about as much work as I can handle by myself at the moment. I have lots of advertising material, but am afraid to put it out there in case I'm too busy! (it's a lovely position to be in!)

Well.... I just found out that I'm 8 weeks pregnant after a year of trying. We are absolutely thrilled, but I'm just trying to get some ideas as to how to best handle my business during the rest of my pregnancy and once the new baby arrives. Does anyone have some advice?

Some points I'm currently pondering:

* I will be having a c-section (non-negotiable... I tried, honestly!) and will be unable to drive for 6 weeks after the delivery. I will try to set up something at home to work during this time. But what to do with the baby? (my husband is the one that gets uptight about me using monomer in the house or near our son, so I imagine he'll be worse when this baby is born)

* I don't know any other techs personally in this area. Would it be worth trying to find someone who'd be willing to take on some of my clientele for 4-6 weeks after my delivery? While I'm worried about losing my hard-earned clientele, I also don't want to leave them all in a lurch.