Rebalance on gel nails with glued on tips

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GRL4YOU

Reaction score
Hi ladies!

I have a client coming back for a rebalance next week (yay!). The set I out on her 2 weeks ago is with glued on tips. Normally when info a rebalance with sculpted tips, I would file down and then apply new product. But for sets with glued on tips - will I have to file down and then remove the tip completely and replace it with a new one? Because I would think the tips would almost fall off once you file the nail?

Looking forward to hear some feedback and advice! Thank you!

Sorry don't really understand what you mean by glued on tips? Do you just mean extensions using tips not sculptured? So tips with gel overlay?

Sorry, I'm still new to the industry just been certified in January! Yes, I mean Extensions using tips!

Ah ok well the tips will be fine for the rebalance just thin the product down and rebalance like normal. The tips will eventually grow out and the nails will just be overlayed. x

Rebalancing a nail is a major part of being a nail technician. Surely they would have covered this within your training? Perhaps you should contact your trainer to go over this important part of a nail service.

Sent from my LT15i using SalonGeek

Rebalancing was covered in my course. My instructor did teach me how to do a rebalance but I've been doing a rebalance on nails with sculpted enhancements. I figured that doing a rebalance on enhancement with tips is the same way, but it just seems that once I file down close to where the tip was applied, the tip always falls off :(