Right way vs wrong way of applying L&P

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arhnails

Reaction score
O.K. I am a new tech. Found nailgeek while in school. Have been working about 2 months. Here is the thing, the salon I work in wants me to be faster at L&P. I know that I will pick up speed the more I do it. But I have watched 2 nail techs in my area that have full books and apply sets or fills in an hour.

The first tech, performed no prep, had a open cup of acetone on her desk that she used for everything, cleaning nails, cleaned acrylic brush in after acrylics.
No hand washing until after service to remove dust before polish. Did not look like she had ratio. Used patting stroking method. Used same file on everyone.
All the methods that Creative training says do not do. Used OPI bond aid instead of primer. Tammy taylor powder.

2nd nail tech, same methods, only prep is filing pushing cuticle back with file, no cleaning, used same monomer all the time. cleaned brush with orangewood stick when finished. same file used on everyone. only cleaned before polish. no primer , used creative radical and creative powder. Nipped old acrylic off and removed some nails with nippers.

The thing is these two techs, nails stay on. They do have fill lines of course. but they are in demand and women like these nails.

My question is I guess, I want to do things the creative way, but how can they not and the nails stay on?

arhnails said:
O.K. I am a new tech. Found nailgeek while in school. Have been working about 2 months. Here is the thing, the salon I work in wants me to be faster at L&P. I know that I will pick up speed the more I do it. But I have watched 2 nail techs in my area that have full books and apply sets or fills in an hour.