Self employed - leaving a salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

charl12dance

Reaction score
Hi fellow geeks

I have been working as a self employed therapist for 10 months within a beauty salon. 3 weeks ago I decided to leave for 2 reasons, 1 I was promised more days over the summer holidays (this didn't happen and instead she employed a new therapist straight out of college and gave her full time work) and 2 she wanted to increase my rent by 10% and on top of that card me to use the card machine. I looked over my books and it wasn't worth it to stay. I was honest with her and explained all of this and she seemed fine with it and explained her reasoning for the increase and that she couldn't move on that figure.

I always have my money the week after I've worked to allow for card transactions, so when I left she asked if she could do the same. I agreed as it was always what we had done and I was leaving on good terms. The night I left I forgot to return my key (I genuinely forgot) I got some nasty tx messages regarding this and I tried to explain that I had just forget but she just demanded I return the key ASAP. The salon is 60 miles from where I live and with clients booked in I didn't have a spare 2/3 hours to go up there. So I posted it recorded delivery, she was fine with this & had txd to say she has received the key (thank goodness).