Self Employment help

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bella_nails

Reaction score
Hi all,

I need some help, how easy is it to be self employed in the way of HMRC and sorting everything out?
Ive been reading loads of threads on here about self employment, but im not very good with numbers, maths etc and reading all this makes me think i cant do it as it all sounds so comlicated.
I know that i have to register with them, but its everything after that like tax. can you sort out how much tax you would owe at the end of each month or do you have to do it at the end of the year?

Im quite scared at the thought of it all. :Scared: HELP!

It is no where near as scary as it seems,
you not be paying much tax if any after your first year as most business`s do not make a profit in the first year,
you get yourself 12 envelope folders and write each month on each of the folders, so January on one, february on another and so on until you have all 12 months, then in each of these you put all your receipts that you have spent on the business in each of the months,
that's your receipts sorted out.
Get a ring binder and every bank statement that you get through the year of trading put into the binder in date order,
save all used cheque books and paying in books.

Now for your takings,
all you need is a small writing book, put the date at the top and make a list of all treatments carried out on that day with the price you charged for each treatment then at the end of the day total it up.
then do the same for each day you are open for business, also note if the client has payed by cash, cheque or card, it will make it easier for you later on.