Shellac fading?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gjg1

Reaction score
Hey!
Ive been doing shellac for about 6 months now and not had a any negative feedback. However, i did a lady 2 weeks ago for her hols and she returned yesterday to have them removed. She had tropix and i did everything i normally do but it had completely faded on her toes, no chipping or lifting just faded colour, and on her hands there were patches of faded areas. Has anyone else had this or does anyone know why it may have happened? Ive not had any other 'holiday makers' with this problem :-(

Sent from my GT-I9000 using SalonGeek

Iv had it before when people have been on hol don't really know how to prevent it presume it's caused by sun sea pool? Maybe try putting s normal topcoat on top to protect them ive found it doesn't happen with the darker colours tho

I did wonder if it was due to sunlight but wasnt sure then thought maybe the sand?! I will try the top coat next time. Thank u x

Chlorine can cause fading.

Ok thank u

Lets get the right information !! :Love:

There are only a few Shellac colours that are prone to fading and these are the softer more semi sheer pinks .. and only the pinks. The pigment in the pinks is more prone to fading and this is unavoidable in all systems. Colour pigments have to be approved by health authorities in Europe and the USA and the approved one is prone to fading !

Why?

1. Because Shellac (and coloured gels) is more porous than L&P or Hard Gel which is why they come off quickly but the down side is they are more vulnerable to certain things.

2. Chlorine is a bleach

3. Sun Bleaches

4. Add the two together and you have double trouble, but a solution is to just dry your fingers and toes when you come out of the pool and then you remove the bleach (or half of it anyway.)

5. Some suntan lotions also break down the surface making it even more porous.