Shellac (I could CRY)

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrsellor

Reaction score
Hi All

Please help

I have been doing shellac now for 3 months and LOVE IT but recently every one I do seems to loft straight off! my application is spot on BUT when prepping I have used an nsi de hydrate instead of scrub fresh and after application I have used nsi cleanse instead of d sperse!!! Could this be why???????

I was told at nsi that I could use these!!!!!!!!!!

My ladies keep coming back and I could cry some have lasted but the majority have lifter straight off!

Please help as I am having sleepless nights about this xxxx

Hi there

I would imagine its probably not helping matters. You should be doing a thorough dry PEP or if using cuticle remover make sure the residue is washed away afterwards and dried properly.

You should be using scrubfresh, not a nail de-hydrater as I believe the de-hydrater will not be cleaning the nail plate and removing contaminates and oils.

You should also be using d-spearse to make sure the inhibition layer is removed correctly, leaving Shellac with the glorious shine that it is known for.

Last edited:
I think you've answered your own question OP

definately use scrub fresh :)

Thanks I ran out of scrub fresh and have just re ordered! I will see how this goes other than that I have no idea what I am doing wrong x

i was using nsi as well instead of scrub fresh as my local distributor said it was the same thing but cheaper in price. WRONG! all my shellac was lifting and i never had that problem before so it was definitely the nsi stuff.

CND PRODUCTS FOREVER!! :lol:

I use NSI dehydrator and don't have a single problem. The ONLY reason I use it is cause I can buy it from the wholesalers within walking distance of my house, rather than pay delivery charges from S2 - works fine for me so honestly can't see that being an issue.