Shellac with bitten nails?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Becky_simon

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I have a bitten nail client requesting Shellac to help her fight the habit.

Any tips to help me make sure I don't get it all over her skin? I have seen the fingernail fixer Video on applying the Shellac horizontally rather then the traditional way along the free edge. Also mayb applying a form to help keep any mistakes off the skin.

I will retail her some SolarOil and of course home aftercare

I'm far from an expert but so far I've had 3 clients and every one of them has had short bitten nails- I must be lucky ;). I used the fingernailfixer tips and also just to be sure I ran an orange stick along the skin at the free edge after applying the topcoat before curing to make sure I hadn't left any on the skin. So far (knock on wood) they've all lasted well (actually not sure about my French from last week as not seen her again yet).

Depending on how far up from the finger tips the nails are, I've started framing the nails first, going from cuticle area to the sides then pulling back the skin a bit and using the very corner of the brush to cap the free edge before going in and painting the entire plate. Sometimes, I use a dotting tool to swipe across the free edge if it's too far up and I can't pull the finger tips back. These are on days when I just don't feel like messing around with forms :lol: This was a method my trainer taught me when I was training with OPI axxium. Of course it was easier with axxium because I was using the tiny, slim #4 brush, but framing first seems to work best for me when I have concerns about polish/gels touching skin.

Didn't want to read and run.