Short nails and gel extensions - advice needed!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AnnaEx

Reaction score
Hi everyone

Ok so be done quite a few gel extensions these past months but I'm still kinda new to the scene, anyway this girl ask if I could do extensions on her nails and I've attached the pictuer of her nails for you to see.

I did try and persuade her for Gelish but she wanted extensions. Anyway I usually use forms with extensions, what's the best advise here? Tips or forms? I know you can customize forms to fit the client nails, she didn't want them long, just a natural looking set.

Any advise would be great! I don't want to feel like I've done a rubbish set for her...which in pretty worried I might!

Thanks!

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    28.6 KB · Views: 195
Although sculpting will in theory provide a stronger enhancement, and many, many techs choose that method successfully, with such a severe biter I personally prefer to use tips. In my experience clients think they are stronger and they last better. I'm sure it's simply a psychosomatic effect but it works!

I would also keep the enhancement no longer than the finger tip. A natural rounded shape to compliment her fingers. And tell her again, and again, and again, throughout the appointment, that they are NOT guaranteed as she is a biter and there is very little nail plate. She needs to return preferably in a week for maintenance as well.

I'd also spend a lot of time on the prep, she will have a lot of dead skin cells on the nail plate, even as far up as the free edge, and that eponychium looks awfully dry and overgrown. Be very careful when/if you use your nippers though so you are not cutting any living tissue.

I used to give my OH manicures when practising and his nails looked pretty much like this! :)

I had a client with nails exactly like this today..