Silk Nails

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Lily said:
Hiya,

I dont think its a shortcut or an easy wasy out, if it reduces natural nail damage whats the problem, although no damage should be made! When i have done courses with Creative and other companies where i had to use a tip every one of the educators told me to pre-blend a tip. to be honest though since havin a 1-2-1 session with GMG i much prefer to sculpt and only use tips if i have to!

Amanda
It is fine to take some of the shortcuts AFTER learning the initial basic skills. This is my point. The original poster was a complete beginner.

You answered your own point ... no nail damage should be done, but it would be if the person had never learned the basic skill of tip blending and then was faced with having to do it.

They do not teach beginners at the Creative Nail Academy to cut out the wells of tips. That comes much later and it is not a suitable technique for all nail types. It is no surprise that 'other' nail companies teach all the short cuts. It is demonstrated everyday by hundreds of nail technicians around the country in their lack of basic skills.

Most good technicians prefer to sculpt but again, even that is not a suitable technique for every client and is also an advanced skill, and not for the complete beginner. Some are taught sculpting from the beginning (I was) but it is a harder road for the student in my opinion.

My job is to help ordinary technicians become great technicians. They won't get there with only short-cut methods.

Why dont they teach Beginners at the Creative Nail Academy to cut out the well area of tips? I dont understand, why would you not do this..could you explain?