Some advice on creating ombré extensions please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mollie1985

Reaction score
Hi everyone I have a client who is about a number 2 in extension colour and she is wanting an ombré effect, she liked the colour 18 but I'm looking for advice on placement, been doing extensions for few years but never did it this way.

Her hair is below shoulder so I was thinking of doing the first row at the bottom the number 2 and then working my way up using the number 18 and then using the number 2 throughout the top sections and then razoring through to blend? Does that sound about right? Sometimes I'm not good at explaining and do it as I'm doing the hair but just looking for ideas xx

Hiya! I'd say get hold of pre made ombre/dip dye in a few shades and use them unless you are a hairdresser and happy to colour them. The way you describe tends to look a bit dated (like when we all had 2 tone hair in the 90!!) And doesn't look great when the hair moves xxx

Sent from my SM-G900F using SalonGeek mobile app

Ah yeah was thinking about when the hair moves, yeah I am a hairdresser but I don't like lightening the extension hair and feel when you darken blonde extensions it never comes out a nice shade lol mmm but stuck on what to do with this xx

I darken quite a lot to ombre (profile pic for example!) Then but make sure it's always a really warm shade! Also you tend to need to re tip! I know angel remy had a few shades, even of it wasn't a 2 on top u could tint it slightly? Sure other places must do pre made also :) x

Sent from my SM-G900F using SalonGeek mobile app

Easier to just buy ready ombred extensions in the colour that matches her hair at top going in to whatever colour she wants to go at ends x

Sjk do custom hair so you can have whichever colour dip dye/ ombre you chose