Some Gelish help needed please?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jenfleur

Reaction score
Hi geeks, I'm quite new to gelish, and am still learning. I found the gelish quite hard to remove so far. (any tips on that greatly received!) I went to a client tonight to remove gelish without reapplication due to work issues. It took loads of soaking last time to remove the previous gelish. When I took it off, the nails had white spots over them. Now I went there just over a week ago to repair a chip, and when I took the gelish off the nail was perfect underneath. The gelish wasn't split so I don't think it's a fungal infection. It looked much better once I had finished and oiled the nail. Help! I'm feeling really deflated and worried about this poor ladies nails! Many thanks.

I THINK this can happen due to dehydration from acetone and will fade. I am happy to be corrected though!

I THINK this can happen due to dehydration from acetone and will fade. I am happy to be corrected though!

I agree - if it looked better after solar oil that's probably what it is.

Take us through your removal steps and we'll try and help :) xxx

So far I've tried acetone, Harmony Soak-Off, D-Solve and the new CND Nourishing Remover (all with teeny amounts of cotton wool, hairdressers foil and a heated towel wrapped round the hand for 15 minutes) and the nourishing remover is by far the easiest removal for me. I always buff the top coat and free edge.

With the other methods I find I have a lot of stubborn bits that need quite a lot of gentle scraping with an orange stick but with the nourishing a wee push and it all comes off.