Total newbie needs advice! What to have in my kit?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ClaireUK

Reaction score
Hi All! :)

So pleased to have found you all! And i really hope someone can help me!!:oops:

I love nails and polish and since i love them, i took a basic course in gel/shellac manicure & massage course and passed, and now im about to start the next part - the gel/acrylics extensions.

However, i seem to be meeting myself coming backwards!! When i start to look to find out, i get bombarded with different terms, brands and things that seem similar, things that could be the same, but i'm not sure....:confused:

What seems like second nature to you guys, is something i need to learn!

I need to know what i'm gonna need in my kit!! Can anyone help me out with this? Is there ANYWHERE online that has a basic "this-is-what-you-need" list? :( Or is there a kind person who can help me out with this, and i'm talking from start to finish off the extensions? TBH, i'm concentrating on gel extensions so if that helps shorter the list...!

I hope someone can help out a really enthusiastic but in need of help, newbie, id be very grateful!!
Thanks!!:rolleyes::)

Hi Claire, I'm a newbie myself, so I feel your pain! There are so many products, tools and colours out there, that it's easy to get overwhelmed. I'd say that the start point has to be the things that you know you'll need, such as sterilisers and the tools that you use on your course. After that, I found that the key point for products is to go for professional only ranges. That way, you don't have the fear that your clients will be able to buy it for themselves. One other point - is your tutor or educator on your course approachable? Perhaps ask them for a start? I also found my local Salon Services branch were really helpful too. Good luck!