Training yourself in gel?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sazza83

Reaction score
Hi i am a newly trained technician and i do have a thousand questions running through my head,but the main one i am looking for a answer to is i have trained in acrylic extentions and wondering how easy is it to train yourself to do gel nails i know there are 2 ways of doing them uv sealing and non but is it easy or do you need to do a course?
sazza

Hun I think you already confused your self with the 2 types ;) , its much safer not to train your self but to go to a class and learn gels its not as easy as it looks :) and if you do it the right way then you will have on going support when things go wrong ,

I did an online course for my Gel with a DVD.
BIG MISTAKE. Lots of wasted product figuring out the mistakes I was making on my own.

You would be FAR better off to take a regular course or a 1 to 1 with your educator. You'll save money learning it properly the 1ST TIME around.
Please trust me on this. (and you'll save yourself the heartache by not having dissatisfied clients)

I wish i could do a course all colleges near me just do acrylics i might ask my tutor in nail art if she could show me how to do gels or talk me through it,by the way i did my research but in a learn at home course they say about uv cured gel and there are gels that don't need curing by the lamp so the company says.
sazza

You should really get proper product training by a reputable company, It's the only way to go. Try CND, Ezflow, Bio. There are alot out there that do it. DON'T SKIMP ON TRAINING.

I'm a single mum of 3 young kids with not a lot of time i do a evening courses i have done mini/pedi,nail technology(acrylic),now nail art....i have a interview to do level 2 hairdressing which a 2 year course of 2 nights a week not too sure on hours yet will find out once i get in(fingers crossed)