What are these?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cookiemonster

Reaction score
Hi geeks

can anyone tell me what the correct term is for the raggedy sharp bits of nail at the sidewalls of the nail are and how to treat them. I don't mean the dry skin - hangnails that you can nip at the base of the skin tear but actual nail that seems to have split/broke away from the nail at the lateral folds. :irked: Hope I'm explaining this well.

thanks in advance :)

Are you using the wrong end of the curret (sp) when doing prep,

Sorry not sure what you mean by curett (sp)
I'm not a pro nail tech just a newbie and work colleagues with these little pests are asking or my help and advice.

Oh ok , it's a fab mettle tool but one end is more of a probe for removing debris but it's always tempting to use to loosen the stubborn side wall cuticle for removal ,its sharp and not made for that so the result quite often is small vertical tears in the nail plate right up the side walls like you described !

Could this be it?it's hard to know with out seeing ,
It's defenitly shreds of nail and not cuticle or hangnail right?

I've also seen this when a client went somewhere else for shellac removal and they used a metal tool instead of an orange wood stick and tore her nails up,

Www.lilmissbuffit.com
Sent from my iPad using SalonGeek

It is a natural occurance on some peoples nails.

It is like there is a thin bit of nail that tears away right down the sidewall. If you catch it on clothing etc.. it can be quite sharp and when you pull it, to remove it, it will bleed.

I get these - do not know the name for them but I know it's not caused by using tools incorrectly as I've had them as long as I can remember.

I have 2 of them at present and will show them to my college tutor on Thurdasy evening and ask her what they are called. Will let you know what she says.

Hi