Would like to do nails, but so confused!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dwickham

Reaction score
I am new to the beauty industry, just trained in spray tanning earlier this year. It was gone so well that I am thinking about adding something else. I am thinking nails, but have no idea where to start!

I have been reading a lot on here and a feeling a bit confused. There are so many names being mentioned: gel, gellish, bio scuplture, shellac. I know acrylics, but that's about it. What is the difference on them all?

I know I have to do a manic/pedi course first, or is a course that takes beginners ok, or best avoided?

I expect this has been answered many times, but I can't seem to find any answers!

Thank you in advance.

Sent from my HTC EVO 3D X515m using SalonGeek

This post would take a month of typing to answer.

There is a tonne of info here on the site. There is a system comparison that explains the different systems in the articles and tutorials section. Start there and then keep reading ... it soon becomes apparent which brands have the reputation for best training, best products, best customer service etc. Stick with known and recommended brands and reputation and you cannot go far wrong.

Doing nails is not a quick or easy option, just to let you know. It is a LONG learning curve and a profession all on its own ... not really an add on service to others that you can learn quickly to add to other simple short treatments ... and it is a heavy investment in time and money.