Aching elbow and shoulder pain from doing nails.

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Emma Bagnall

Reaction score
i have been doing nails for 11 years now, and think i may be suffering from repetitive strain injury. if i have a busy day, maybe 7-8 infills or sets, my left elbow feels like its on fire. its the arm i use to hold and steady my clients hands, not the one that actually does the work. then the following day my shoulder also aches.. tried physio, which works, untill the following thursday, friday, saturday when i'm busy again. does anyone else get this? does anyone know of anything i can try? supplements? elbow supports etc.... if i dont do something soon i'm worried what the long term affects may be!
any help or advice much appreciated... x

i have been doing nails for 11 years now, and think i may be suffering from repetitive strain injury. if i have a busy day, maybe 7-8 infills or sets, my left elbow feels like its on fire. its the arm i use to hold and steady my clients hands, not the one that actually does the work. then the following day my shoulder also aches.. tried physio, which works, untill the following thursday, friday, saturday when i'm busy again. does anyone else get this? does anyone know of anything i can try? supplements? elbow supports etc.... if i dont do something soon i'm worried what the long term affects may be!
any help or advice much appreciated... x

If you search 'posture' and user geeg you will find quite a few posts on this subject.

Here is one about the correct chair to use.

Usually an office chair (modified for the salon usually colourwise) is an excellent choice as they are meant for people who SIT all day and need good back support!

The problem may not be your chair but rather the height of your chair, or how you are actually sitting in your chair that is the problem.