Advice on Make Up

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wendyrose

Reaction score
Morning,

I am currently doing a Beauty course part time since Jan, we are about to start learing make up application etc., however we have to buy our own products and I dont want to spend a fortune as we will be using it every week and would rather spend my money on professional make up once I have passed my exams and am working on 'real' clients.

Do you have any advice on what make up is the best quality at the best value? And would you recommend buying all products the same brand or go for different ones. I have used some GOSH products before, just on myself and to me it's nice to apply and lasts, but I'm an novice, does anyone use GOSH products or is it all high end products pro's use? Also, one of the girls in college mentioned something about mac's make up not being as good anymore, does anyone find that?

Thanks in advance!!

try artdeco this is quite reasonable and alot of geeks rate this.

Thanks Samantha, Ill have a look!

Hello wendyrose.
If your budjet would cover GOSH makeup products then i would strongly reccomend useing this brand , they are brilliant. but makesure you get four to six different foundations and im not sure if GOH do a translucent powder, but if they dont then you will need to match up the powders to the foundation aswell. you will need a wide range in light and dark eye shadows, pencils, mascarra E.T.C

other brands i would have a look at are

-Loreal
-Barry M
-Urban Decay
-Too Faced
-Ruby & Millie
-Rimmel
-GOSH

start as you mean to go on you need decent products to give a decent finish! Try screenface/cosmetics a la carte /mac. Products like barry m are good for shadow dust but when it comes to foundation you really get what you pay for. You will also need a good set of brushes screenface do loads of starter kits i would highly reccomend them.