Another rebalance nightmare!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karen Minx

Reaction score
I have a client who i have been doing L&P enhancements on for the past 9 months. She has always had lifting in zone 2 horizontally right across the free edge area and i always have to file right down and sculpt her a new tip. I awlays thought it was something i was doing wrong and have even tried giving her a new set using tips but the problem still was there every other rebalance. (she goes 3 weeks infill, 3 weeks backfill and has them really short)

It wasn't until about 3 months ago i learned after questioning her about it when i see her free edge all ragged underneath, she admitted that she picks her natural nail underneath. I told her gently (because she is a friend) that everytime she does this, she is picking at my work and causing the lifting in across zone 2. (she never has lifting in zone 3)
So its been going on and on and she cannot get out of the habbit. She told me (well i thought she told me) its when she can see the re growth of her free edge so she starts to pick, so she changed her appointment times to 3 weeks backfill then every 2 weeks for infill. Then she said it was when she couldn't see her free edge that she picks. So im confussed as what to advise her. :sad:

I did say on her last appointment maybe Shellac would be better for her has she has her nails really short anyway and maybe she wouldn't pick them if she never had the acrylic to discuise her picking habbit. So we agreed to give her a 1 nail shellac trail on her next appointment.

She has texted me this morning saying she hasn't looked after her nails very well and they have badly lifted again :sad: and should we just soak off and do the full shellac tomorrow anyway and what do i think?