axium vs brisa gel

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rebeccaj

Reaction score
I have just seen a demo of OPI axium coloured gels and was very impressed. So impressed with the ease of application and the colour range that am considering purchasing.

However, I am CND user and am wondering if I should be buying Brisa bolds instead. (I am not really so keen on having to mix colours as I custom blend my L&P and seem to end up with heaps of little pots of various colours).

Has anyone used both OPI and CND and have a definite preference, or just care to comment on either of these brands, keeping in mind I am fairly new to gels. Many thanks.

I do brisa gels, but when I saw the ads for the gel lacquer come out, I knew I wanted to try it. And the best news I got was from an OPI educator, stating that the product could be cured with the Brisa lamp and I did not have to purchase a 4th lamp (I've tried a few products before Brisa lol). The only thing with using the Brisa lamp is it's a 2 minute lamp. Axxium gel lacquer has cure times of 1, 2 and 3 minutes. Not too big of a deal..I cure the first layer (that's one minute) for 2 in the Brisa lamp, because it takes me about 2 minutes to do the other hand anyway, and you can't really overcure it.

There is a difference between the Brisa bolds and the gel lacquer. You cannot extend with the gel lacquer, nor correct shape. It is meant to look and feel like polish, so it's very thin and flexible. I've heard it's comparable to bio sculpture or calgel colors, but I have no experience with those. The Brisa Bolds are a regular gel, just colored. They are thicker gels and you can sculpt with them and correct shape.