Bring your box dye offer

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MisstyB

Reaction score
So, saw an advert today at a hairdressers.....bring your own box dye in and our junior will apply it for you then you just pay for the wash cut and blow dry.....is it just me or is this slightly bonkers???

The only instance in which I can see this making sense is if someone wants a really extreme colour in their hair (green semi permanent for example) and wants to buy some stargazer type stuff and not risk doing it themselves.

Otherwise yes, this offer doesn't make much sense...I can imagine that boxes of shop bought hair colour can vary in quality and as a result, the professionals won't be able to guarantee the results of their work so it could come back and bite them in the bum.

(I'm not a hair pro, I'm replying with a business mind)

I don't personally think hat sound very professional. Very bonkers lol!

The only instance in which I can see this making sense is if someone wants a really extreme colour in their hair (green semi permanent for example) and wants to buy some stargazer type stuff and not risk doing it themselves.

Otherwise yes, this offer doesn't make much sense...I can imagine that boxes of shop bought hair colour can vary in quality and as a result, the professionals won't be able to guarantee the results of their work so it could come back and bite them in the bum.

(I'm not a hair pro, I'm replying with a business mind)

Exactly right.
If I were to use a box colour for someone I would charge £500,000.
Its cheaper to use mine than spend on a box and have me apply
It xoxo

Its a sad sad day for the industry when salons feel that they have to do this to stay in business its sounds so desperate ,i have been asked in the past to do this and its always a big fat NO :-D

Sent from my LT18i using SalonGeek