Calgel tips or sculptures?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

michellen2411

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to Calgel, I am loving doing it but am having problems with my tips staying on 😞 I'm using the exact method I have been taught but with no joy.. I have got new glue, new bulbs and new tips.. I'm keeping them short as I've been advised but they keep coming off.. Would sculptures be better as they seem stronger, just not to confident doing them.. Any help much appreciated 😊

personally i love doing sculptures but they should both be strong. Talk me through your routine please? maybe that will shed some light and we can offer a wee bit more advice xxx

Right, I shape and prep as I would with overlays, apply the clear gel to the nail (not to the cuticle) buff the shine off, apply glue to the tip and place on nail at an angle, buff and blend then apply my gel.. I love doing them but its disheartening when I'm getting told there not even lasting a week 😞 thanks for your help..x

Firstly have you trained with them actually by Calgel

Yeah I've done the Calgel course..x

Yeah I've done the Calgel course..x

Just asking because there could be lots of reasons if not.I don't use the Calgel tips I have much better results with pro impressions welless tips they are thinner flexible and require very little blending.
You have to build strength along the stress area I do this by laying strings of gel from above to below the stress area you have to work quite quick as it such a thin gel but you can freeze the gel after each nail before you do your full cure.
Also you canholdthe hand upside down which will allow gravity to help with an apex.

I might try different tips.. I have some CND ones I might try.. To be honest I've never done the 'sausages' I'll give it a go.. My friend is also having the same problems.. I do find the calgel tips quite thick.. Thank u.. 😊