Carlton Institute just for diploma?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoJoJo

Reaction score
hello nail geeks x

Ill go straight to the point:

I'm a nail tech for a bit more than 4 years now. And as I'm not British, I've qualified in the country i come from. I live in the UK now, as I've married British man. For the past year and a bit i wasn't working, because i was looking after our little daughter. With ''wasn't working'' i mean i didn't work in a salon or been self employed. I was still doing nails and charging for it once or twice a week for friends or friends of friends etc.
Now when my girl is a little bit bigger i decided to try in some salon. The problem is that all of my diplomas got lost as my ex partner decided to throw all the things that belonged to me away (lol)
When i emailed company that i was doing my courses with in my country, they refused to issue new diplomas, saying they are not allowed as they are not keeping track of previous students!!! And then added that my diplomas wouldn't be valid in the UK anyway!!!
So now i have no other choice but get some diploma so i can get insured and try to get some work hoping that employer will accept me for my good work not for lots of qualifications in this country.
To the point... I've booked a Gel course at Carlton Institute in Durham. I don't really care about quality of the training, most of all i need Diploma for a low price...
So is there anyone who could comment on this or just to give me some advice? Will I be able to get some job just with that paper + my knowledge of 4 years? Should I just try and explain it to my potential employers?

sorry about such a long post written in pidgin english lol
and thanks a lot in advance! xxx :hug: xxx

Anyone? i just have no clue about what qualifications you must have in UK, if you want to do gel nail extensions?