CND Shellac discolouring

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
I really hope someone can help, it’s driving me crazy!

I have a new client who I did a shellac French manicure for last week. She messaged me and sent me a picture the next day to say that it had discoloured. I went through all the things that could have caused it, like strong coloured foods, fake tan, cleaning products hair dye even her shampoo… She said that she hadn’t come into contact with any of them. I arranged to redo them for free as a good will gesture. Then last night she has messaged me again and the same thing has happened! This time she had a colour. She’s saying it has to be the polish.

I’ve been using CND Shellac for 5 years had this happen once in that time and it was from curry. I’ve used my products on several other clients in the mean time with no problems.

Attachments

• 12804003_10153236381581557_1363874100_n.jpg
    12804003_10153236381581557_1363874100_n.jpg
    40.7 KB · Views: 270
  • 12825565_10153250626046557_1193058470_n.jpg
    12825565_10153250626046557_1193058470_n.jpg
    57.7 KB · Views: 231
I'd say it's her unless you have contaminated your topcoat somehow?

If none of your other clients have the same problem, it's got to be something she is using/touching

As its not discoloured the whole nail evenly, only the tips, it seems like something the client is doing?
My first thoughts were that it looked like cigarette staining but it's not on the right fingers, and she would have to be smoking like a chimney to stain them that quickly!

What about newspaper? Or baby oil or something like that?

Thank you for your help. I haven't asked her about baby oil. I couldn't think of anything else to ask about. x

In the past culprits for me...... New handbag, dye of trousers.