Diabetes and nail services.

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Missgiggles

Reaction score
Hi all :) My mum has just been diagnosed with diaebities today , and i no from bits from what my tutor has said that you have to be really realllyyy careful.

And she wants her nails doing tonight ( acrylic nails) , so really what im asking is what else do you need to be careful of with a client who has diabetes. I no a few is that you have to be careful with filing incase you nip the skin , and also dont cut the nails to short.

Is there anything else?
thanks all :)

Hi,

Now, I dont claim to be an expert on this and i am a gel tech so dont know l&p. But I was always told that Diabetes sufferers can suffer from impaired circulation in fingers and toes called sensory neuropathy.
And as you state, they do not notice cuts etc around fingers and cannot feel heat (i.e: heat spike with gel) So you have to take extra care when applying products etc. Also, I was taught that it could be best to remove nails regularly to check nail has not altered from before extensions so that you can keep an eye on if any infections etc have occured as the client may not be aware of this due to the lack of sensitivity.

Hope this helps?? x

Sanitation, first and foremost. Don't cut/nick the skin. Same for ALL clients.

One thing is, the acrylic MAY not stick. My BFF is diabetic and NOTHING stays on her nails. L&P lifted, gels lifted and even Shellac didn't last on her.

Best of luck and I wish your mom all the best. :)

Thanks girls! I'm shocked cos she's only 40! But I suppose it happens to everyone
I did her a set of acrylic last night and they look brill. Thanks for the advice
X

I am a diabetic and it is the complete opersite for me. I and all other diabetics I know are over sensitive we feel EVERYTHING! So pl be careful with us!