Essential waxing points - any advice?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gemzom

Reaction score
Hey, im pretty new to the industry and really want to be the best possible waxing therapist I can be. Ive made myself a few 'pointers' to ensure i follow before and after every wax, anything im doing incorrect or not doing please let me know.
Ive only just completed my training and this weekend have a few 'models' i will be practising a leg wax on...so nervous so having this to refer too will just build a little confidence, providing i know its correct:) Please be critical!!!;)

Every Wax!

1. Cover surface with couch Roll
2. Put Gloves on
3. Apply hand sanitizer
4. Ask client to remove appropriate clothing – examine area for contra-indications
5. Cleanse Area (to prevent infection and remove any oils from skin that will prevent wax from ‘grabbing’ the hairs)
6. Apply SMALL amount of jasmine oil (to ensure skin is hydrated and will make wax less painful for client)
7. Test Temperature of wax on my wrist (test temperature from side of wax pot as this will be hottest)
8. Test Temperature of wax on small area due to be waxed on client
9. Dip spatula (using plastic one) in wax pot
10. Wipe away wax from one side of spatula
11. Slowly twist spatula until wax has stopped dripping
12. Stretch the skin -from above
13. Wipe wax from spatula onto area waxing (spatula flat to client’s skin)
14. Using 45 degree angle pull the wax down to a thin layer (if you think the wax is too thickly applied do not attempt to go over the same area to thin the wax out – this will just pull on the clients skin
15. Apply wax strip, one firm rub onto wax strip
16. Stretch skin from below
17. Pull wax strip in the opposite direction to the growth of hair in one swift movement (pull backwards not upwards)

Never…
Wax round a corner