Eyebrow dying...not tinting.

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
The last time this subject was brought up, I was lambasted for mentioning haircolor for eyebrows...

I use a demi/semi haircolor on the eyebrows all the time ..3%. It looks fantastic.

I also use a permanent color for grey hair on one of my clients (6%). It is thick enough to not run but covers the course grey eyebrow hairs wonderfully. The only problem that comes with using a permanent color is the eyebrows actually have a "grow out". I use a barrier creme just under the brow line.
I have been doing this for over 20 years and have never had any problems nor complaints.
If I ever heard of any irritation or burning of the area, I wouldn't do it and might I mention that I only do this to a few clients.

One of the stylist at the salon uses the eyebrow/lash tint kits on one of my clients, and she is always complaining that it turned out too dark or it didn't last. I haven't brought it up to her that I could do her brows when coloring her hair for the simple fact that I would be taking money away from this stylist.

Ya got to know the rules before you can break them. Safety first

I'm not too sure but
I always thought that dying things hair or clothes was to add colour to it
bleaching is to take colour away ,
tinting in my opinion is adding colour and sometimes a bit of lift
perhaps its because we cannot say "Oh I have a high lift dye in today" LOL

I suppose the tint word covers the two step tint procedure of adding colour and/ or lifting colour too , maybe:rolleyes:

The word "dyeing" was the hot word of the 70's 80's..then we went on to the word "tinting" now the word is "coloring".:lol:
We went from "Beautician" to "hairdresser" to "hairstylist"

Okay so..tinting is lift and deposit color(oermanent)
Dyeing is adding color only (semi/demi)
so..what is coloring then? :D