Fungal nail, allergy or psoriasis?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 150450

Reaction score
Hi guys.

I am a newly qualified nail technician. I am not working on the public yet.

I am having major mail problems - nail splitting, Nail separating, nail crumbling, hardening on the free edge etc etc.
The doctor (he has only seen pictures due to COVID) has sent off a sample of my nails to the lab as he thinks it may be fungal.

Does anyone have any experience or input about this? I will insert pictures in the comments.

Thank you in advance.

Attachments

• EE4001B4-77D0-4DED-A2F5-66521E8AB87E.jpeg
    EE4001B4-77D0-4DED-A2F5-66521E8AB87E.jpeg
    227.1 KB · Views: 315
  • 636DCFBB-5E6B-4695-9DF2-DAEA3F07180F.jpeg
    636DCFBB-5E6B-4695-9DF2-DAEA3F07180F.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 314
Are these your nails?
How long have they been like this?
If so have you been putting products on them/yourself?

We are not doctors and do not diagnose. I would need to know the result of the tests before deciding on what to do going forward.

yes these are my nails. I noticed a sensation of water on my nail bed so I took my enhancements off. I would say i've been suffering for a couple of weeks at least. Yes I do my own. I like to think I know what I'm doing though. I don't have the results yet - could be another two weeks. So frustrating. Obviously I can't wear any nails until after I get the results and probably beyond.

If it is fungal, do I have to refrain from the nails for the whole treatment time? Doctor said it will be 6 months

Not going to lie, they are some of the worst looking nails I've ever seen, I'm sorry to be blunt, but I think as a trainee tech you need to be aware just how bad this is.