Geeks in Canada?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Pink Orange

Reaction score
Hello!

I wondered if any of you lovely Canadian geeks could give me any advice please? I have wanted to move to Canada for a long time now...Things have changed and It is looking like a more possible dream now! Realisticly its going to be another 2/3 years:( but that gives me time to better our prospects when we get there! I am a new nail tech, and have been a hairdresser for 12 years. I have researched the visa and am planning on using 'skilled worker' I would need to get a teaching qualification and would like to do this in nails, I am wondering if in your opinions it would be worth while? Are there Jobs in this area? Does it depend hugly on the town/city? where would be best? what is the demand for good quality nails? sorry so many questions! Thanks peeps:)

HI Pink!!

Well, first of all, it all depends on what province you move to, with regards to demands of services and what qualifications are needed.

My advice, get all the qualifications you can. Even if you move to my backwards province Quebec,(which I advise you don't, since you'd need french to survive) where qualifications are 'technically' unecessary at this point THEY ARE A GREAT THING to set you apart from all the ding-a-lings running about willy-nilly. I'm a great believer in continuing education.

There is ALWAYS a demand for Quality enhancements. It's a question of location and building a clientel which can take some time, as you know.

First you need to determine exactly which province you intend to move to. Personally, I think Alberta is FABULOUS and if I had my choice, that's where my backside would be!
While housing is pricey, cost of living is low and salaries high. I have been made to understand by friends living out there that Alberta is debt free, and that's why their taxes are so VERY low.