Gel hell

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maggiebrace

Reaction score
ok, so im looking to get gel equipment to do gel nails myself at home, and i was wondering can anybody help me some advice??? im new to this, usually i just paint my nails with regular polish, so i really have no clue in this area!

so i've been looking around, i don't want anything fancy and im on a bit of a budget, so its got to be something good value. im looking to by a led uv lamp but im not sure where to get one? i was going to buy one off ebay, whats the best wattage to go for?

also, in terms of polish, can anyone tell me the required items (files, base coat, foundation etc) cos ive been reading all about them... whats the best/worst type? also, does it matter if its like, a cheap chinese brand? or is that bad?

sorry for all the questions, hope someone can help!

I hate to rain on your parade but you should not be doing your own gel nails. This is a professional product so go to a professional salon.
Also, in regards to buying off eBay - you never know what quality you are going to get or what it is you're actually buying.

Please get them done at a salon - people are trained to do these for you so make the most of their skills and knowledge.

Hi there,

I see you are new so welcome 👋.

Please don't take offence to my post...

Unfortunately no one will recommend you buy a kit & do it at home yourself with out any training.

The chemicals, can cause you problems if not used correctly.

Incorrect application can give you awful looking nails.

Incorrect removal can ruin your nails.

Not one lamp will cure all products either.

So, if you enjoy all things nails, why don't you take a course?

Firstly you will need a manicure & pedicure certificate, then a gel polish or gel overlay course.

It takes a lot of practise to get right, & there isn't one product that suits all nail types.