Gel polish questions

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xxsarahj25xx

Reaction score
hi, im a nearly qualified nail tech, but have not been working with gel polish as it is not part of my course. wondering if anyone can help with the following:

1. will i need a seperate certificate to get insured to provide this treatment? (i am will be qualified in acrylics NOT gel nails)

2. has anyone used young nails mani q range? (seems to be a more logical product as its 100% gel ranther than hybrids like shellac etc)

3. has anyone used young nails l+p system? would anyone reccomend? (not related sorry! just thought id throw it in there rather than start another thread!)

thanks in advance xx

Gel polish not included in my course either (city and guilds) but our teacher gave as a lesson when we requested it. As you will have learnt the prep methods/curing in your enhancement training it's very quick to learn the rest. May be worth asking your teacher?

Hi welcome to salon geek

With regards to whether or not you will be insured. Only your insurance company can give you the true answer. While most insurances and distributors only require a manicure qualification, some insurances will want you to do a course. I can highly recommend a courser because I've been painting nails for 10 years but still did the Shellac brings them back course with CND as there is always stuff to learn!! I learnt loads!

I've never used young nails products so I am sorry I cannot help there.

E x

Last edited:
thats what im doing, vrq lvl 2 nail technology. do you also only have to be assessed on blended clear tips with natural overlay? dont think the course covers as much as it should, we dont even get taught pink and white l+p!