Help with Gel

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lady_of_Pain

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am hoping that someone can help me. I want an opinion on the gel that I am using now. You will probably not recognize the name of the gel, it is NailBasics, and I think it is just a gel found in this area of Canada, I think it is made here. I have my opinion of it, but I am just learning (in school right now) and I have not used anything else to compare it to.

Here is my problem:

The way the gel works, when you do a french set, there are two different whites you apply. First - on the form - you apply a VERY THIN layer of the french gel, which is a very transleucent white self levelling gel. The layer should be thin enough to see the black of the form. You freeze that for 10-20 seconds. Then you apply a thin layer of sno, which is a non-self levelling gel that is whiter than the french. If the sno is put on too thick, it will not cure all the way through. My problem is, that the whites are so see-through-ish that you can see the natural nail underneith. If you put a thicker layer of sno on, it will not cure properly. If you put a thicker layer of french on, the nail will be too thick. Also, the way that they teach us in our manual is not the same as the way they are teaching us in class. They told us that they didn't want us to learn the 2 steps with the french and the sno yet because if you put the sno on too thick it will not cure. However, to make the nail look natural with just the french and to not be able to see the natural nail through the sculpted nail, you have to put the layer of french gel on so thick and then you get ugly thick nails - and they were telling us to put a thick layer of this gel on in class. I was not happy, as I believe that our goal is to create a natural looking nail.