Holiday message for answerphone

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sharkster

Reaction score
Hey geeks,

I read a post on here recently that got me thinking about an issue I have.

Being an independent therapist I don't have a receptionist so an issue arises when I go on holiday. I contact all my exisitng clients before I go away so they know when I am not around but any new clients calling the salon would not be aware. I just don't feel that it gives a good impression if a potentially new client leaves a message and I don't reply for 2 weeks because I've been off sunning myself and obviously I am not going to put a message on my answerphone stating that I am on holiday (errr, yeah come & rob me!).

Does anyone have an idea of a message that could be left on the answerphone that would let clients know that treatments are not available while giving the impression that there were people in the salon. I have kind of thought of 'we are temporarily closed for staff training' or 'we are temporarily closed for a refurb, please call back in 2 weeks'??

Any ideas?

x

Hello this is the Beauty Salon

Please be aware this answerphone will not be checked for messages between the following dates xxx to xxx.

please do not (stress these words) leave a message, the answerphone service will resume again on xxxx.

Thank you for your call.

I don't think you need to explain in this message why this is happening, they just need to know that their messages will not be picked up until the date stated.

Jacqui xx

Thanks for this, but do you not think that this would indicate that I'm not there?

Please be aware there is a fault on this answerphone - please do not leave a message as we cannot pick it up. The fault has been reported.

Due to staff shortages this answerphone will not be checked between these dates. Please do not leave a message.