How long should you spend on Shellac file and polish?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am getting a little worried now I have been shellacing for 9 months but I am still taking over an hour. Does anyone have any tips how i can speed up. I know where my downfall is it is cleaning the cuticles.

Work out how long each step is taking you can try and improve on one thing at a time

Sent from my GT-I9300 using SalonGeek

Hi - I've been doing shellac since October & it still takes me an hour! This includes cuticle work as I find EVERYONE needs this done! I wouldn't worry about it as long as your doing everything correctly. 😊

^^^ Me too - I take an hour still and I've been shellac'ing for nine months now...I take just over an hour if I have removal as well. I'm not concerned though ;)

It takes me around 30-40 mins to do Shellac, toes even faster. I have done it for 2 years and I can paint quite fast through practice. Is it just new clients its taking over an hour on or returning clients.

Takes me an hour and 15 mins with removal. I've only done it a handful of times on clients.

^^^ Me too - I take an hour still and I've been shellac'ing for nine months now...I take just over an hour if I have removal as well. I'm not concerned though ;)

I'm the same!! :)

It's a good idea as posted above to break down how long each step takes you and let us know so we can help. My times are
Removal 15mins
Pep 15 mins
And application (base through to top cost) 15 mins

I normally take about 40 mins, an extra 15 if removing previous shellac x

Ive been using Shellac for over 1 1/2. I take an hour. This includes removal(if required), a really good manicure and coats of colour etc. I have found that if its a first time Shellac i still take an hour as I spend my time discussing aftercare.