How Much Should I Spend on Advertising?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SunSpray

Reaction score
I'm a Mobile Spray Tan Tech operating on a part time basis and so far have done all the usual free advertising - website/on-line, leaflet-dropping, word of mouth from friends, family and clients, and I've had a reasonable response, donated free voucher in return for flyer distribution, but like everyone I'm always keen to increase my client base. There are so many opportunities for paid advertising out there and I just don't know how much is an acceptable amount to invest in advertising. £20? £50? £100? £250? My income from spray tanning isn't huge so I know I can't go mad. Is there a formula I should be using which would tell me how much I should allow for advertising? Thanks all x

Hi,

I don't think that there is one fits-all formula - it depends on so many factors.

What you really need to do is sit down and work out a budget that works for you and your business. However, I don't think you should spend too much on it as, IME, the majority of new clients come from word of mouth.

HTH,
Linzi x

There is a lot of advertising you can do without spending a fortune. Networking really is the key here, so join as many appropriate business network groups as you can and be pleasantly surprised when you pick up new clients every time you go! Just google business network groups and your location, et voila!

Hi Calla, I've joined a local business link forum but some of the more suitable events are chargeable and I just can't pay. I must look into that area more though, thanks.
I'm thinking about paying to advertiseon NetMums.com, has anyone else done it and had any success?

I think the general rule for a small business is 10% off turnover/projected turnover although for a start-up business you might expect it to be higher than this.