insurance & registering

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

laurab71

Reaction score
Can someone help out on this matter please as it is causing a bit of a disagreement in the family. I will try to explain it as clearly as i can.
I have been a mobile nail tech for a few months now and have been insured with babtac from the beginning, but my business has not been registered with the tax office, so really, my business does not exist. So i am now thinking of registering my business as i am doing pretty well & becoming legal.
The disagreement among us is, my family say i should not let the tax know i am trading, but stay insured. So then, why be insured if i am not registered. I dont think i need insurance if my business does not exist. So if someone tries to make a claim, how can they claim against my business if it is not in the system. Will the make a claim against my business or against me personnaly. I want to do things legally, but the family are trying to put me off from letting the tax office know i am trading, so i said there is no point in being insured if my business is not legal, but they say i should still be insured.
What is the point. Can someone help please on this confusing topic.
Laura.x.

would you want to pay for insurance through BABTAC if you are not doing any treatments?

You need to be insured to work on your clients and if you are earning and not declaring it, it can cause complications with your national insurance etc. You have 3 months from when you start trading to notify the tax man. Also if you are advertising what would you do if someone rings up....and they are from the tax office!

Not worth the risk in my book. If your working...have your insurance, notify who you need to then you are not looking over your shoulder. If you dont want to work cancel your insurance and dont do any treatments