Is there actually any money to be made???............

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

froggie

Reaction score
So.....is there any money to be made in this world of Beauty/Nails and massage etc?
I'm starting to give up. I've been a beauty/massage therapist for 14 years!
You start off in a local salon to gain experience...min wage...but you think its ok i'm just getting my experience...so..you move onto health farms, great experience, treat famous people earn a little more and travel a bit.....then time to try something else...so I work in a salon/spa in hotels, the pay is a bit better, lots of tips, fantastic lifestyle but time to settle down, you meet the guy...you marry and decide its time to go self employed so you start off sensible and rent a room in a salon, you take 60% and give the salon 40% you think great i'm working for myself...all going great etc i'm fully booked every day taking £500 a week, £200 goes to the salon i keep £300 and after expenses, travel, products etc hey i'm back earing £200 for a full weeks work MIN WAGE again!!....So you think well if im paying that much out to rent space in a salon i'll take the plunge, do a business plan, get a loan and open my own business....so long story cut short 3 lovely years a great salon im very proud...booked up...lots of repeat clients beautiful salon but the overheads eat up all your money again, and once again you look at your takings and hey guess what i'm still only taking £200 a week for myself MIN WAGE!!!

I'm starting to think about working from home or my mums conservatory or something, no overheads, no rent to pay someone else etc etc what does everyone think??? Does anyone actually make some good money working for others or as a salon owner or rent a room etc?????????
Need some inspiration :Love::Love::Love::Love::Love: