Leaving wax heaters on?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

3rdtimelucky

Reaction score
Hi all,

I work as a waxer from home, and some days I turn my hive 1000cc heaters on at lunchtime for any evening appointments. (I still work p/t in my 'day job'). I do this so the wax is settled at the correct temp so I can make my first evening appointment soon after getting home from 'work'.

Does anyone else do this? I know it's not ideal, but I really have no choice due to limited time when I get home.

I'm worried about fire risks, but surely it's not much difference to leaving a slow cooker on. Or is it?!

I use timers for all my wax pots. x

You can't use timers on the Hive digital heaters :-(

Timers don't work on the digitals which is a pain.

Leaving your heaters on is possibly a fire risk.

I use digital timers on my heaters and wax pots. I got mine from Argos 3 for £14.99

Ahh just saw the digital heater bit! Humm that's stumped me x

I have timers on mine..makes life soooo much easier

You can use timers with certain digitals but not all of them.
The tall digital one with a handle at the side can be used with a timer as it doesn't need to be adjusted once on, like the hive one does.

Vic x

Sent from my GT-I9505 using SalonGeek mobile app

Lots of us use timers which make it so much easier.

Sometimes if I'm working really early in the morning the next day I leave the wax on overnight.

As Vicki said lots of digital heaters don't work on a timer facility but some do , I'm using the Perron new digital ones now and they do switch on with a timer

Going back to the original question about whether it's ok to leave them on over night.

I've done it myself countless times in my past but not anymore as we wouldn't covered by our insurance for a fire. Different for those that work from home as you're there to smell burning or your smoke alarm would go off.