Male Beauty Therapists?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shotmillions

Reaction score
Hi just wondering I am about to start a Beauty Therapy NVQ Level 2 course, and im a GUY (which seeing the faces of the people at the college when i told them what i wanted to enrol in seemed like its a bit rare!)

Anyway I was thinking if guys get hired to regular salons to provide all services? My only worry is because im a GUY so female clients wouldnt want to use me and guys might be scared of me because im a guy and they think im gay or something. Altough im not. I could be wrong but I am just wondering.

Also this is my first post so hey! And im from Manchester UK and currently I work as a BOUNCER which is probably as far away from Beauty Therapy possible :eek:

Thanks in advanced!

Hi, I don't have a lot of professional advice to give you as I too am at collage (adult ed) taking an ITEC in beauty therapy, but when I was enrolled on a City of Guilds Beauty course when I left school (a very long time ago) two guys that I went to school with were on the course with me and they have both done really well although one now lives abroad and caters for retired ex-pats, a different clientelle, and the other moved on to hairdressing and owns his own sallon and has done extremely well.

I would not let being a guy put you off at all, but that is just the way I try to bring my children up to follow their dreams as there is nothing worse than being stuck in a rut and too scared to try - that is just personal opinion now I am older and probably because I played safe when I was younger and did what everyone expected of me - hence my going back to collage to do what I always really wanted to do.